The field, compared
Packaging design tools compared: which one for which job
A dieline generator, a 3D mockup tool and a print-file exporter are often three different products. This page lines up the ones packaging designers actually use. Everything about other tools is read from their own public pages on 24 October 2026; plans change, so check before you buy.
Web tools side by side
Software of another kind
Which one for which job
How we compared
Every figure about another tool comes from its own public pages, read on 24 October 2026: pricing pages, FAQs, dieline pages and the languages a page declares. “Not stated” or “Not read” means we did not find it, not that the feature is missing. We left out tools whose pages we could not read. Names are their owners’ trademarks; Drint is independent and not affiliated with any of them. Spotted something out of date, or missing a tool? Write to support@drint.io and we will correct it.
Questions
What is the best free dieline generator?
Templatemaker (no account, PDF, DXF, SVG, PNG and SignCut files) and 3D Box Studio (free account, a 1:1 PDF dieline with your artwork and bleed, plus SVG and DXF) both give dieline files at no cost, as their own pages say. Neither page describes CMYK colour handling, so check with your printer.
Which tool exports print-ready CMYK files?
Drint exports CMYK PDF/X-4 through ICC profiles with ink limit and separations on Pro. Canva Pro can export a print PDF with bleed in CMYK, as printers’ guides describe, but has no dieline tool. The other tools’ public pages do not say.
Which tools allow commercial use?
Drint allows it on Free and Pro. 3D Box Studio’s FAQ allows exports in client work. Templatemaker allows packaging and printing but not sharing or selling its files. Pacdora lists a commercial licence only on Business ($99/seat/month). Die Cut Templates does not state it on its pricing page.
Is Drint cheaper than Pacdora?
Pacdora’s cheapest plan that exports dielines is Pro at $29/seat/month ($199/year billed annually); Drint’s Pro is $19/month ($144/year). Pacdora has a bigger library and team seats; the Pacdora page lists both sides.