Skip to content

Drint and Boxshot

Drint vs Boxshot: an honest comparison

Boxshot is a desktop application for 3D box renders; Drint runs in the browser and starts from the dieline. They overlap on the 3D picture and little else. Everything on Boxshot’s side is read from its order page on 24 October 2026.

Start designing Side by side

Side by side

Side by sideDrintBoxshot
Price and licence
PriceFree; Pro $19/month, or $144/yearSubscription $192 per user per year, paid upfront; permanent licence $499 per user, one-off
After a yearPlans renew monthly or yearly; Free stays freeThe subscription stops working after the year; the permanent licence keeps working, with free updates and support for one year
PlatformIn the browser: Chrome, Edge or SafariWindows, macOS (Apple Silicon) and macOS (Intel)
Free trialA free planNot stated on the order page
What it does
Dielines and print filesA dieline at your size; CMYK PDF/X-4 through ICC profiles, ink limit, separations (Pro)Not stated on the order page
Client approvalA link, no account: spin the 3D, pin comments, press ApproveNot stated
Commercial useFree and ProNot stated

Choose Boxshot if you…

Want a licence you keep, offlineA permanent licence for $499 works after the first year.
Work in Windows or macOS apps, not the browserIt is a desktop application.

Choose Drint if you…

Start from the dieline and finish with a print fileDesign on the die, fold it in 3D and export CMYK PDF/X-4.
Want to start freeA free plan, and one link a client opens without an account.

Other comparisons

All tools compared Pacdora Die Cut Templates 3D Box Studio Templatemaker Canva

How we compared

Boxshot’s figures are from appsforlife.com/boxshot/order (order page), read on 24 October 2026. Drint’s are from its own pricing page. “Not stated” or “Not read” means we did not find it, not that the feature is missing. Boxshot is a trademark of its owner; Drint is independent and not affiliated with it. Spotted something out of date? Write to support@drint.io and we will correct it.

Questions

How much is Boxshot?

Its order page lists a subscription at $192 per user per year, paid upfront, and a permanent licence at $499 per user, both with one year of free updates and support.

Does it run in the browser?

Its order page lists Windows and macOS builds; it does not mention a browser version.

Does Boxshot export dielines or CMYK print files?

Its order page does not say.

Drint and Boxshot

Try the same job in Drint